Hospital-Acquired Conditions (HACs)

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has adopted the following eight hospital-acquired conditions (HACs) for the Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting Program:

  1. Foreign object retained after surgery
  2. Air embolism
  3. Blood incompatibility
  4. Pressure ulcer stages III and IV
  5. Falls and trauma, including:
    1. Fractures
    2. Dislocations
    3. Intracranial injuries
    4. Crushing injuries
    5. Burns
    6. Other injuries
  6. Vascular catheter-associated infection
  7. Catheter-associated urinary tract infection
  8. Manifestations of poor glycemic control, including:
    1. Diabetic ketoacidosis
    2. Nonketotic hyperosmolar coma
    3. Hypoglycemic coma
    4. Secondary diabetes with ketoacidosis
    5. Secondary diabetes with hyperosmolarity

More detailed information on CMS’ algorithm for identifying HACs can be found in the Specifications document on the Resources page.

QualityNet requires Internet Explorer with JavaScript enabled on it.

Steps to enable JavaScript in Internet Explorer
  1. Click on the Tools menu option at the top of the page.
  2. Select Internet Options from the drop-down menu.
  3. From the dialog box, choose the Security tab.
  4. Click on Custom Level.
  5. Set Active Scripting to Enable.
  6. Click OK to close the custom settings dialog.
  7. Click OK to close the Options dialog.